My Top 10 Chick Flick Movies!

My Top 10 Chick Flick Movies!  

Growing up I have always enjoyed chick flicks, I like all that ‘girliness’ in them, I’m a sucker for romance and gossip and pretty much anything that makes me giggle along the way. Since I enjoy these movies ever so much I thought I’d share them with you!

1. She’s the man

screenshot_2017-01-23-20-13-18-1.png

She’s the man is my favourite chick flick movies out of the chosen 10! And how can it not be! It has Channing Tatum and Amanda Bynes in it! Both are great actors. Ok, so this movie is essentially a comedy/romance movie and throughout the movie I did chuckle a lot. A summary of the plot is Viola the main character wanting to play football (soccer) so switches places with her twin brother to disguise as him so she can play for their boys’ team. Alongside that she has the job to keep her disguise a secret, try dodging the “girls” that like her (thinking she’s a guy) and crushing on Duke (Channing Tatum) the hot football captain of the team.

 

2. What A Girl Wants

screenshot_2017-01-23-20-13-00-1.png

For my second chick flick pick has to be another film with Amanda Bynes in! I really do miss her being on our TV screens, she’s one of my favourite actresses! Alongside Bynes we have our very own Colin Firth, who to me is my “dad” crush. The plot summary is essentially a seventeen-year old girl from New York goes to England looking for her dad, who doesn’t know he had a kid with an American girlfriend he met years ago. Once, Daphne finds him she finds out he is an important political figure. Throughout her visit Daphne attempts to fit in with the social requirements demanded of her, while also getting to know her dad, dealing with his other snobby daughter and getting to know a guy she meets. And lets just say it all goes a bit wrong.

 

3.The Clique

screenshot_2017-01-23-20-12-30-1.png

The 3rd chick flick movie that is on my list is the Clique. The clique is a teen comedy movie that I actually really enjoyed. It was a great quick watch for me and I was surprised to actually like the plot. It was fast paced yet enjoyable. The brief synopsis is A young girl called Claire who moves into one of her parents best friend’s guest house as the family was struggling financially. However, when she arrives to the house, she meets Massie the daughter of the rich parents. And as always she’s spoilt and bratty and tries to make Claire’s life a misery in the house and in the new school she is attending. Along the way Claire tries to fit in with a clique of popular middle school girls which is very hard when you don’t own the right shoes or clothes.

 

4. From Prada To Nada

screenshot_2017-01-23-20-11-13-1.png

 

Ok, so this is my 4th movie pick! From Prada To Nada. And the plot is in the name of the movie. Mary and Nora are so used to living a rich life provided for them by their father. However, when their dad dies the girls learn that they are bankrupt and are forced to live with their Hispanic aunt. They went from buying Prada to now having nada. The girls are played by Alexa Pena Vega and Camilla Belle who are absolutely brilliant. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie it did make me swoon at the romantic bits and then chuckle at other bits. And it really is a great chick flick movie!

 

5. Bride Wars

screenshot_2017-01-23-20-10-51-1.png

 

Bride wars is one of those movies that leave you laughing until your sides hurt! I really loved this movie so much! It has my 2 favourite actresses ANNE HATHAWAY and KATE HUDSON! Ok so the synopsis of this film is of two best friends who have known each other since childhood getting engaged at the same time however their weddings are scheduled for the same day at the same hotel they both love. Neither of them agrees to change the date and consequently they become enemies, throughout the film you will see both girls trying to sabotage the wedding party of the rival. This movie actually left me in stiches and it’s a great comedy to watch with your best mate!

 

6. Wild Child

screenshot_2017-01-23-20-10-17-1.png

 

Another girly/tween movie me and my sister recently watched is Wild Child. The cast includes Emma Roberts, Alex Pettyfer and our very own Natasha Richardson. This was a cute movie that me and my sister like to watch when we just need a nice night in with just a decent teen chick flick that makes us laugh. The movie is about a rich spoilt American girl from Malibu who is shipped off to a strict English boarding school by her dad. Here she learns how to adapt to changes and how to make real friends. Alongside that she’s trying to get kicked out of the school, annoy the hell out of the prissy head girl and try to steal his crush. She’s just a wild child.

 

7. The Devil Wears Prada

screenshot_2017-01-23-20-09-37-1.png

 

Here’s a good oldie but a goodie. Devil wears freaking Prada is a great chick flick movie for everyone and anyone. I feel like anyone can watch this simply because the whole movie was pretty epic. The cast included Anne Hathaway, Meryl Streep and Emily Blunt like those three together is just perfect! The plot consists of A graduate called Andy lands a job as an assistant to Miranda Priestly who is the demanding editor-in-chief of a high fashion magazine. Andy learns to adapt to her new environment trying to please Miranda and Miranda’s assistant to then figuring out that by doing this she’s losing all that makes her “her”

 

8. Angus Thongs And Perfect Snogging

screenshot_2016-12-26-20-24-45-1.png

This is a great coming of age movie,  I’m 18 and I still like watching this! This is super chick flicky! It has bits of everything the awkwardness of being a teen, your first school kisses, how to kiss, school parties and discos, embarrassing parents and just a bunch of friends mucking around. The plot summary is of a 14-year-old girl called Georgia who keeps a diary about the ups and downs of being a teenager, including the things she learns about kissing and her guide to get the boy she likes.

 

9. St Trinians

screenshot_2016-12-26-20-25-33-1.png

This movie was a laugh, the cast were amazing! It was funny and a complete havoc to watch. The story focuses on a school called St Trinian’s, which is full of uncontrollable girls in London, England. And when I mean uncontrollable I actually mean the dreaded ones baby sitters run away from. A short summary is that the girls in the school are trying to save their beloved school from bankruptcy by stealing the painting ‘Girl With A Pearl Earring’. This movie really made me wish I went to a messed up school like St Trininas it looks so fun. The movie was crazy and is a fantastic watch for families.

 

10. Uptown girl

screenshot_2016-12-26-20-26-25-1.png

This movie did actually surprise me because it wasn’t all girly and fun. The movie did have a meaning underneath the whole plot and personally I interpreted it as realistic and dark in a weird way. It did have a hint of comedy, but it also has a lot of emotional parts. The movie has 2 of my favourite actresses Brittany Murphy and Dakota Fanning. I absolutely love Dakota Fanning! She’s amazing. The story line consists of a woman called Molly Gunn, who is a spoiled wealthy immature young woman. Her father was a popular rock-and-roll guitar player, who died in a plane crash with Molly’s mother when she was a little. She eventually had to work for the first time in her life as a nanny for a little girl called Ray. Ray is mature and is like an adult. They both get the role of teaching each other how to be an adult and how to be a child. Overall this was a lovely sweet film and very intriguing to watch.

So these are my top 10 chick flick movies I personally enjoy! I am aware that some of you might be screaming other movies like MEAN GIRLS & CLUELESS. But I thought I skipped the obvious movies that everyone is aware of! There’s so many other movies that I love, but it would have taken me ages to list them all! I have also come to realise that when reading through this I seem to describe every movie with the same adjectives. ( There’s only minimum amount I know of)

Do you have any chick flick that you can recommend? Comment down below your favourite movies!

OnceUponAJayJay x

5 thoughts on “My Top 10 Chick Flick Movies!

Leave a Reply

