Bully (Fall Away #1) by Penelope Douglas – Book Review

Bully (Fall Away #1) by Penelope Douglas 


My name is Tate. He doesn’t call me that, though. He would never refer to me so informally, if he referred to me at all. No, he’ll barely even speak to me.

But he still won’t leave me alone.

We were best friends once. Then he turned on me and made it his mission to ruin my life. I’ve been humiliated, shut out, and gossiped about all through high school. His pranks and rumors got more sadistic as time wore on, and I made myself sick trying to stay out of his way. I even went to France for a year, just to avoid him.

But I’m done hiding from him now, and there’s no way in hell I’ll allow him to ruin my senior year. He might not have changed, but I have. It’s time to fight back.

I’m not going to let him bully me anymore

 

I finally gave this book a try and I absolutely loved it. There was never a dull moment while reading  Bully. I’m a sucker for angst, drama, and a ton of sexual tension. I started Bully around midnight. As you know me I don’t read a book in bits I go full on, so one thing led to another and next thing I knew, it was 4 in the morning. I  finished the entire book in one sitting!

Jared and Tate grew up next door to each other. Jared was sweet, generous and friendly and they were best friends. But  that sweet boy who, who had climbed trees with her, and who had snuck over for sleepovers  changed. One summer. A 13 years old Jared turned on Tate. He began to bully her. Spreading vicious rumours, humiliating her and completely torturing her high school experience. Tate decided to take a year of studying away in France and when she returns for her senior year of high school she has changed. She is now bossing a new mature, firm and confident image. Which of course intrigues yet irritates Jared.

“Every party we go to, or every time I relax at school, there’s some prank or embarrassment to ruin it.”

Jared Trent:  Popular, Cocky, Arrogant, Smart, Mysterious, Sexy, but Damaged and Menacing.

Tate: Smart Strong, Resilient, Mature, Gracious and Forgiving.

You were my tempest, my thunder cloud, my tree in the downpour. I loved all of those things, and I loved you. But now? You’re a fucking drought. I thought that all the assholes drove German cars, but it turns out that pricks in Mustangs can still leave scars.”

Personally I thought  their endless sexual chemistry and intensity was brilliant! This was such an entertaining enemies to lovers story it was hot & enjoyable. It had aspects of comedy in it as well and it fitted in so well.  I loved the fact that Tate wasn’t someone who held back and let Jared walk all over her. It is always refreshing to see the female character to be strong and outspoken in these kind of novels.  I just loved how Tate fought back, I  loved her sassiness.

“Do you know what this is?” I took my middle finger and patted the corner of my eye with it. “It’s me, wiping away the last tear you’ll get.” 

I absolutely  loved this book. This is the definition of a hate-to-love story and it w. I could not put it down.  The sexual tension in this book just absolutely was gripping. One minute he’s spreading rumours about her and is embarrassing her, then he’s giving her “eye fuck” looks then he’s kissing her and after all that  he’s  back to being moody and telling her he doesn’t care.

“You were never clingy or a nuisance, Tate. The day you moved in next door I thought you were the most beautiful thing I’d ever seen. I fucking loved you.”

It’s quite refreshing to read a book where the heroine isn’t annoying or weak. I can quite honestly say that I loved it all!  I recommend this book to anyone who’s a fan of angst and drama because this is  one of the best I’ve read. This is a perfect example of that little boy in the playground, who fancies the girl and starts pulling her pigtails or pushing her in the sand pit.  Bottom line, this is a really fantastic book.

“Isn’t it about time you fought back?”

 

OnceUponAJayJay x

Leave a Reply

